Squat/Deadlift Day

523 lbs

Today was the perfect example of why I am only trying to make it into the gym twice a week.  From the minute I woke up this morning it was non-stop running to get things done.  My wife took care of our newborn and I spent the morning and early afternoon running errands, cleaning, and fixing a dish to take to a family reunion.  I still didn’t get everything done that needed done and my wife felt rushed to get ready as we had friends coming over to meet Benjamin tonight, but I still managed to get a decent squat and deadlift training session in.  Here’s how it broke down:

Squat
135×5
185×5
225×5
275×5
315×5 (added belt)

Deadlift
135×5
225×5
315x1x10 sets (speed deadlifts, 60 sec rest between sets)

Bulgarian Split Squat
1 set of 10 with bodyweight

Hanging Ab Raises
3 sets of 10

Ab Roller
1 set of 10

It felt good to move a little weight today.  The squats felt heavy, but I felt like I had good technique and the weight moved relatively fast.  Give me a few weeks and they will feel good again.  It just feels like I’m working muscles that haven’t done anything in a while, which in reality is what I am doing.  The deadlifts felt pretty good.  I kept the weight light and just focused on good technique and moving the weight fast. 

Now it’s time to enjoy a miserably hot weekend.  We have a family reunion in Ashland that we are planning on attending and introducing Benjamin to the family.  We probably won’t be staying too awfully long as it is outside in a pavillion and I’m sure Benjamin won’t appreciate the heat (not to mention dad).  Monday morning I’ll be back in the gym for bench day.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

