Back in the Saddle

My new inspiration.  Benjamin Lewis, born July 28th, 2010 at 21:24.  7 lbs 5 ozs.  My wife and I are a little sleep deprived still, but we are slowly getting into a routine.

I’ve taken the past two months off from the gym, but I finally made it back today.  Man did it suck.  I plan on keeping the intensity down and increasing the volume for the next few weeks while I get back into the swing of things.  After that I’m not yet sure what kind of program I will be doing, but I’m kind of leaning towards Jim Wendler’s 5/3/1 for a few months to regain my strength, work capacity, and technique.  Anyways, here is how today’s workout went:

Bench Press  45×10, 45×8, 135×5, 185×5, 225×5, 275×5, 225×5

Military Press  45×10, 45×10, 95×10, 115×10, 135×5

Chest Supported Row  4 sets of 10

Tri-Set>> Face Pulls, Tricep Rope Pushdowns, Rope Curls >>3 sets of 12

Standing Ab Pulldown  3 sets of 12

Everything felt heavy as hell, but it felt good to get back under the bar.  The plan is to keep it light and work back into things slowly.  For now I’ll only be lifting 2 days a week since my priorities will be at home and with lack of sleep I’m sure my recovery abilities will not be at it’s best.  I’ve made good gains in the past lifting 2 days a week, so I’m not too concerned.  The plan as it stands will be to make Monday my upper body day (bench press) and Friday my lower body day (squat/deadlift). 

So follow along if you like and feel free to pass this page along to friends if you think they’d be interested.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

